Top Five Protein Power Snacks

Protein. Protein. Protein


It’s now what my days meal planning is pretty much based on!
It is also super important to get enough protein in our daily food consumption, to allow ourselves to fuel our bodies, muscles to recover and reach our fitness/wellness goals!

Each and every individual will vary on how much protein their body will thrive off – click the link to work out your own macro nutrient content as a base line for your daily intake here Macro Calculator.

More often than not I am on the old Google machine, or My Fitness Pal, researching and whipping up protein based snacks to fuel my body each and everyday. Nothing too complicated of course! Just simple, nutritious sources to allow me to reach my macro target along side the main meals for the day (brekky, lunch and dinner!)

I have listed my top 5 protein packed snacks and meals that allow my body to power through the day and hit the gym by the evening!

One. Greek Yoghurt + Cinnamon + Mixed Berries
 Just 100 grams (just under 1/2 Cup) of Greek Yoghurt totals to 8 grams of protein and 80 calories. Pair this bad boy with the anti inflammatory, cholesterol butt kicking cinnamon and 1/2 cup of warmed mixed berries and you have yourself a combo made in heaven.
I often opt for this option for dessert to end off my day balanced and nutritious.


Two. Cottage Cheese + Carrot Sticks
It had been a very long time since I last swallowed a spoonful of cottage cheese (we are talking years and years here) but it wasn’t until last month that I forgot how delicious and versatile it can be!
Just 1/2 a cup of cottage cheese comes in at 12.2grams of protein and 97 calories! I often mix up the veggies, but you cannot go past the good old classic carrot sticks to pair this creamy delight with.


Three. Tinned Tuna  + Salmon
I’m not ashamed to say I am totally that guy that whips out a can of tuna in the office #sorrynotsorry …. #wellalittlebitsorry!
Just one can of Tuna weighs in at 16.8grams of protein and just 110 calories. Tuna not your thing?
Tinned Salmon is just as good, coming in at 13.4g of protein and only 86 calories! Tinned fish can be a great source of omega 3 fatty acids, which are brilliant for aiding in the reduction of risk of heart disease, promote eye health and reduce inflammation, plus so much more (Omega 3 Fatty Acid Benefits)

Four. Quest Bars + Protein Shakes
I won’t lie, I am a sucker for quest bars.
The brilliant thing about these ridiculously protein packed snacks is that there are so many flavours to chose from. Spoiled for choice much?
I often opt for a bar instead of reaching for a chocolate or some other sugar filled snack. Each bar roughly comes in between 20 – 21grams of protein and varies between 119 to 121 calories per bar. See the nutritional and flavour list here Quest Bars.


Five. Edamame Beans
You can locate these bad boys in your local japanese joints, or alternatively pick up a bag frozen from most supermarkets!
Just 100grams of these bad boy beans total to 11grams of protein and 122 calories. Adding edamame to your salads or simply roasting a few in the oven with sea salt can really boost the nutritional value of your daily intake. They contain no cholesterol, and are also a great source of iron and calcium.

I would love to know what you guys do fuel your bodies throughout the day?
What’a your protein packed go to snack?
Drop me a line via email or in the comments xx

Leave a Reply

