Macros & Meal Prep

Macros
You hear the word thrown around a lot these days, but what does it actually mean??

Well pretty’s, I am here to break it down, super simple style.

  • Protein
  • Fat
  • Carbohydrates

These three beautiful things are your macronutrients, super important to fuel your body to keep it running at its best potential all day long.
All three will give you an individual percentage and the total amount of calories for your day.

For Example

Carbs: 39%

Protein: 36%

Fat: 25%

Total Calories: 1,629
These percentages will be based on your age, height, weight, gender and physical activity. Keep in mind this is not the be all and end all number, the trick is to ensure you are getting the right amount of each macronutrient for your own body. Of course the more dedicated you are, the easier it will be to reach your daily target.
Each percentage of each macro will be totally individualized. There’s no magic number or a “one size fitz all here”!

Before giving anything a crack I always like to spend the time researching away.
I jumped on the Google machine / YouTube researching the many benefits, individuals fitness journey’s and what this all actually involves.
To my surprise, it didn’t seem that complicated after all – and with a few clicks of a button I had my set of macros for my daily intake staring me smack bang in the face.
I have listed a few trusty lil websites below for you lovelies to head on off too!
https://healthyeater.com/flexible-dieting-calculator
https://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/macronutrients_calculator.htm
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JNxdDwx-F1w

Before I knew it I had downloaded “My Fitness Pal” (for roughly the 17th time…….Rome wasn’t built in a day), upgraded to “premium” because health is an investment not an expenseand starting tracking my days intake.

I will be brutally honest with you, I was pretty damn shocked.

I realized how much I snack and graze throughout the day, which is in no way a bad thing, but it seemed to be my choices that were high in fats (a lil too much peanut butter..or way too much whoops), very little carbs (not overly good if you are wanting a balanced diet) and pretty average protein intake (which I need to up to support a new gym regime).

As much as I did not want to see those figures in minus or red, I kept doing this for the next few days. I really wanted an insight into what percentage of macros my body was actually getting.

It was uncomfortable I won’t lie, but I’m so glad I did!

I have now found that simply pre-planning and working out my macros ahead of time has worked to my advantage.
Like anything practice takes perfect, and getting to know what your body thrives off is just as important and reaching that goal target.

After a few days of planning, prepping and tracking, already the benefits are showing:

  • I no longer feel the need to excessively snack in between meals
  • Each meal has me full by the last bite and totally satisfied
  • Energy levels have upped, that 3pm fatigue is no longer a thing
  • Recovery time in between sweat sessions has decreased (along with the help of some L Glutamine – read the benefits of recovery here: https://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/glutamine.htm )

This is where it’s meal preps time to shine!
Thank you to this gem of an app, I can plan out my daily meals knowing exactly what is going into my body to fuel it for the day ahead.

For all you macro counters out there, I will be stating the stats for meal prep lunches and brekky’s for all new recipes going forward.

I would love to know how you meal prep, macro count, or ensure you set yourselves up for the week with your own health routine!
Please feel free to send me a message or email with any questions or your own self health journey.

xx

Leave a Reply

