Macro Bowl lunchin’

 

On Sundays, we meal prep.

Every time Sunday comes around I find myself thinking what can I whip up quickly and will satisfy my ever last hunger?

Macro Bowls seem to be my best answer.
I take pride in making sure everything I prepare for the week is healthy, flavoursome and fills the spot. No point munching on lettuce leaves when you know you’ll be looking for food 10minutes after.

I did a little research on the bowls of goodness before I got started on my very first one, so here are a few good to know facts when building a lunch bowl like this one.

Fact.
The breakdown.
20 – 30 percent Grains (brown rice, quinoa or couscous)
40 – 60 percent vegetables
5 -10 percent beans/protein source

Fact.
You can make you macro bowl into a stew like dish for those colder months! Adding in miso soup, vegetable stock or broth is a simple way for a new take on the lunch staple.

Fact.
Fermented foods are perfect for gut health. Incorporation of foods such as sauerkraut, miso paste, or pickled vegetables are great for extra probiotics in your diet.

Fact.
You can have your bowl raw or cooked. Simply grilling vegies like broccoli, asparagus or cooking up a large handful of spinach in coconut oil is a good way of releasing the ingredients different flavours to compliment your whole bowl.

Fact.
Options for the bean/protein portion can include marinated tofu or tempeh. These bowls are not strictly vegan, so options of steamed or marinated chicken will do just fine.

Fact.
The best bowls are the ones that contain all the healthy ingredients that you love. Lunch should always be enjoyable and never a chore! The guidelines above are just that, guidelines. There are SO many different combos to play with, I’ll be sure to post a few more as I get a bit more experimental.

 

 

What I did.
So after your little read of fun facts to whip out next time you’re trying to impress a healthy freak – you can now see how I incorporated these words of wisdom into my own lunch bowls.

2 cups brown rice
2 radishes thinly sliced
1 carrot grated
1/2 avocado sliced
handful of chopped cucumber
1 bunch of grilled asparagus in sea salt and lemon juice
1/2 cup cooked chickpeas (which I forgot to add in, yes I’m kicking myself)

Finished with a drizzle with tahini and lemon dressing for an extra tangy kick.

 

Leave a Reply

