Newcastle Haven

Last week not only myself, my (practically) other half, got the opportunity to escape to the beachy chilled town of Newcastle. We honestly didn’t know what to expect. After asking around, we got the jist it was going to be mostly industrial due to it’s historical past.
So we didn’t have very high expectations, but were more excited about the fact we had the chance to go away together and explore somewhere new. It’s the simple things in life that make you happy.
That whole week seemed to rejuvenate my mindset and overall perspective on all the things I’m going through in this stage of life.
Whether it was because I was with two supportive, strong and down to earth people that confiding in, makes it like a piece of sweet, sweet cake. Or being right on the ocean shore every morning, salty air seems to have such a relaxing quality. Or whether it was taking timeout, breathing and introducing ourselves to some yoga classes. In a loft. On the top floor. Yeah, I’ll happily do that more often.
Regardless I loved every second. I loved the townhouse fronts mixed in with the relaxed beach town vibe. I loved that it wasn’t bitterly cold like Melbourne. I loved how everyone had the small town friendly charisma. I loved the food, the Brunswick and Richmond style cafes. The brunch (dies). The places we loved included “Ground Floor” + “Blue Door” + “One Penny Black”. These guys know how to do not only food but coffee too, and my, my, my do they do it well! (They all have instagram, so I think a stalk is much needed so you understand what I’m talking about).
It was new, it was different and it showed how repetitive and routine driven my current life is.
Which I seek to change, old habits die hard, but motivation drives the new.
It’s nice to take a step out of the normal, to completely change routine around. You can gain a whole new perspective on the ordinary.
It seemed almost like a weight lifting off my shoulders, there was no stress that week, no real responsibility and no time limits. Extremely freeing.
So in a new lesson, I wish to try and incorporate that mindset into my everyday life. To slowly slip out of the same old boring standards & rid myself of the negative thoughts.
I noticed driving to work the very next day after our return, I had gone straight back into feeling up tight, annoyed at everyone on the road and constantly rushing from one place to another. And for what? Literally nothing.
Time to let go, stress less and be happy with where I’m at.

Regardless, here’s some snaps to get a small insight of this little venture xx.

image

image

image

image
image

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

